I am revisiting Assembly/Dissassembly and haven't worked with it since 286 or 386's so for the purposes of this board i am a newbie.

I have a very specific thing i want to do and (being new to this) I need help from guys in the trenches.

I want to track down an executable's call to DirectX9 or DirectX8's D3DXMatrixPerspectiveFovLH. I want to do this solely for the purpose of tracking down and modifying the FOV and aspect parameters passed to it. My nefarious purpose is to get the aspect ratio to run correctly on a widescreen display.

I am guessing there is a byte signature for a procedure offset in near proximity to register loading of the parameter values or variable locations. Does anyone know if this is possible? If my assumptions above are correct, does anyone know what the procedure offset for D3DXMatrixPerspectiveFovLH() is? And would the parameters be loaded before them? I downloaded MASM but it doesn't appear to have a dissassember, where is a good dissassembler to use or are the modifications so minor I could do them in a hex editor?

If someone can help or knows a simpler way, let me know please-- Thanks!
Posted on 2004-06-20 13:05:07 by polypusher
simplest way would be to make a fake stub of the direct x dll it uses with exports calling the real dll (real dll being loaded by your fake stub with the same named exports), and put the fake stub dll into the same dir the exe is in, that way windows loads your dll (which then loads the real dll and 'forwards' the exports), thus enabling you to debug and mess with it pretty easily
Posted on 2004-06-20 16:15:52 by evlncrn8
I want to track down an executable's call to DirectX9 or DirectX8's D3DXMatrixPerspectiveFovLH.

Those come from d3dx8/9.lib and are thus linked statically.
The only way to find the function would be to scan for the actual binary code in the exe image, I suppose.
Posted on 2004-06-20 16:44:04 by Scali
Thanks for some ideas and to see some other reality checks on what im up against.