Just a try to find compromise between size and speed in filling subj.
Source and test app. included
Posted on 2004-07-05 19:06:46 by The Svin
little improvement

sbb eax,eax
jc @r
inc eax

instead of

sbb eax,eax
jc @r
movri eax
Posted on 2004-07-05 19:15:59 by The Svin

Just a try to find compromise between size and speed in filling subj.
Source and test app. included

The rar file produced errors when I tried extracting it.

And what the heck is a "movri" instruction?
Posted on 2004-07-05 20:53:22 by mark_larson
it's macro, you'll understand it when look at source
Posted on 2004-07-05 21:01:15 by The Svin
Another zipped version
Posted on 2004-07-05 21:02:09 by The Svin

Another zipped version

Just some constructive criticism. Nothing personal. I program in assembler for a living.

1) Having the macro "movri" do multiple things is very confusing.

2) If the person doesn't know the trick about doing "XOR REG,REG", doing it within that macro tends to hide the fact.

3) You have a bug in your code. You do a "pusha" at the top of the PascalD routine, but then you use 32-bit registers. "pusha" doesn't push 32-bit registers, you want to use "pushad".

4) Generally windows doesn't care about eax, ecx, or edx. So using a PUSHAD is probably excessive. Probably best to just push the remaining registers you use.

5) Using LEA is very slow on the P4, try and avoid it.

6) Using LEA to set a register to 2, and another one to -2 is very confusing. It's hard to follow confusing code. Since it runs slower on a P4 anyways, might as well use a MOV instruction. Or if you want to be fancy you can do it with an OR instruction since ECX at the time is already 0. This is unless you are doing some sort of optimization. Sometimes optimziations make the code more confusing. But in the case of optimizations, it is always best to write the code initially so that it is easy to understand. That way it makes it easier to modify it later using different optimizations.

rep stosd
; edi=B