I'm new to Win32 API and though doing a trainer would be a good introduction. I'm using Borland C++ free command line tools 5.5 as my implementation language. Running on XP Pro SP1.

For some reason the code below always fails at the WriteProcessMemory stage (returns false). Can anyone suggest why?

------------------ start code ---------------------------
#include <windows.h>

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
DWORD aMoney = 0x09660106; //money address in C&C Gold
BYTE poke[]={0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00};

HWND hWndTarget = FindWindow(NULL, "Command & Conquer");
if(hWndTarget == NULL)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "Command & Conquer not running.", "Error", MB_OK);
return 1;
}

DWORD dwProcessId;
GetWindowThreadProcessId(hWndTarget, &dwProcessId);
HANDLE p_hand = OpenProcess(PROCESS_ALL_ACCESS, FALSE, dwProcessId);
if(p_hand == NULL)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "Could not attach to process.", "Error", MB_OK);
return 1;
}

BOOL ebx = WriteProcessMemory(p_hand, &aMoney, &poke, 4, NULL);
if(!ebx)
{
DWORD error = GetLastError();
MessageBox(NULL, "Error writing to process.", "Error", MB_OK);
CloseHandle(p_hand);
return 1;
}

CloseHandle(p_hand);
MessageBox(NULL, "All done!", "Done", MB_OK);
return 0;
}
------------------- end code ----------------------------
Posted on 2004-07-27 08:00:23 by
Hmmm, I just realised this is an ASM only board. Sry, but if you can help me out I'm still interested.
Posted on 2004-07-27 08:12:21 by
Check the return value from GetLastError, you can convert it into readable text using the FormatMessage API, it will tell you more about why WriteProcessMemory is failing.
Posted on 2004-07-27 08:19:17 by donkey
Originally posted by kufudo
DWORD aMoney = 0x09660106; //money address in C&C Gold
BYTE poke[]={0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00,0x00};

:
:

BOOL ebx = WriteProcessMemory(p_hand, &aMoney, &poke, 4, NULL);
if(!ebx)
{
DWORD error = GetLastError();