Hi! I am new to assembly and i wanted to ask how difficult is to learn it. I am not an experienced programmer, i only know a little C, and i decided to learn assembly first and then continue with C. I hope i don't get a negative answer here!

Also, could anybody tell me some good tutorials? The truth is that i haven't searched google yet, although i know it can give some good results, because i wanted to know what you people recommend considering your own expirience.

And something else. Does assembly programming differs dramatically between Linux and Windows?

Thank you all in advance!
Posted on 2004-08-16 16:27:01 by patriziacharms993
It's not too hard to learn the basics of assembly, and win32 is very easy - I would suggest you start with http://www.madwizard.org/dl.php?file=tutors.win32asm . For programming windows, http://win32asm.cjb.net (Charles Petzold's "programming windows" is very good too, but not free).

I would suggest you learn C and Assembly at the same time, the two languages go along well. If you're stuck with a junk compiler, get the vc2003 toolkit from microsoft, it's one of the best x86 compilers and it's free - http://msdn.microsoft.com/visualc/vctoolkit2003/ .

The assembly itself doesn't really differ between win32 and linux, they're both 32bit protected mode operating systems. The way you interface with the OS is different though - with linux you're basically going to do libc/posix or syscalls, where windows has the rich win32 API.
Posted on 2004-08-16 16:50:31 by f0dder
Thank you for the reply!
The first link doesn't work though :(

I won't use the win32 API right? That's only for C.. Does assembly use it?

BTW Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 says that it is only for C/C++.. what about an assembly compiler?
Posted on 2004-08-17 07:05:26 by patriziacharms993
After searching this site a bit more i found some good tutorials :) Now i need a compiler, and to know that thing with the win32 API..
Posted on 2004-08-17 07:33:36 by patriziacharms993