call open_program,OFFSET explorer
call ExitProcess,0

open_program PROC NEAR STDCALL, svPath:DWORD

;====> TASM VERSION CRASHES HERE:MASM VERSION WORKS
call MessageBox,0,,0,MB_OK

ret
open_program endp

end Start

The messageboxa call crashes the program, i don't know why tasm-compiled binary can't access the argument, it should do.I compiled the code under masm and the executable works OK.

No link and compiler parameters for TASM.

I see in many source codes that i can access function arguments using their name, but in this case it doesn't work. :cry: How can i access the function's argument then? Using ebp?
Posted on 2004-08-29 20:49:20 by giacos
use so,

open_program PROC NEAR, svPath:DWORD
Posted on 2004-08-29 21:42:01 by cakmak
still crashing ..
Posted on 2004-08-30 06:44:21 by giacos
I'm new to ASM my self and am not familiar with TASM, but in NASM saying tells the assembler to access the value at the memory location of svPath, whereas the MessageBoxA wants a pointer to the memory location, not the value. I'm not sure how you do it in TASM (possibly with OFFSET svPath?), but in NASM you would just remove the brackets.
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:01:21 by ben
with or without brackets and offset i still get a crash :(
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:04:50 by giacos
Can post a binary?
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:08:14 by roticv
i included source file and binary in the attachment .. tasm has really strange behaviour, i wrote some new lines and now it doesn't crash but it shows strange strings :?
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:12:40 by giacos
Can't run OllyDbg, can't use masm or fasm or goasm or... ? :)
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:12:54 by f0dder
Can't run OllyDbg, can't use masm or fasm or goasm or... ?

If i'm here maybe i need some help to fix the problem :)

I debug many times using olly and it seems tasm assembles incorrectly, jnz instead of jmp and similar :? I'd prefer to use tasm instead of masm (micro$oft CRAP :twisted: ).nasm naaah..

:roll:
Posted on 2004-08-30 10:25:11 by giacos