before i state my question i'll like to note that i'm a beginner in HLA.. and it seems ever interesting to me seeing how its based on previous languages i've studied.. however, i understand the concept and that 32 bit registers overlay 16 bit registers.. and 16 bit registers overlay 8 bit registers.. but,i'm still confused when it comes to the the "mov" instruction. for example:

mov(0,al); // 8 bit register is copied to 0
sub(10,al); // 8 bit register is copied to 10
mov(al,18); // 18 is copied to 8 bit register

is it possible to use either high or low? or even both? and why the strange assignments? like al into 10 and 18 into al? these question also relate to the other instructions below..

mov(0,ax); //8 bit register is copied to 0
sub(116,ax); //ax is copied to 116
mov(ax,116); //116 is copied to ax

mov(0,eax); //32 bit register is copied to 0
sub(132,eax); //32 bit register is copied to 132
mov(eax,132); //132 is copied to 32 bit register

just by taking a wild guess, is it possible that, when making a program you have to stick with the registers within a 32 bit register.. meaning.. for example in this programing the author used eax which extents to ax.. and then al and ah.. but ah wasn't used.. also, it is possible to use 2 32 registers with in a single program? i would greatly appreciate if someone has the time to clearify this for me. Even though asm is a complicated language i'm dedicated in learning it.. but for now i'm :shock:
Posted on 2004-09-02 12:53:25 by JuJuMagic
before i state my question i'll like to note that i'm a beginner in HLA.. and it seems ever interesting to me seeing how its based on previous languages i've studied.. however, i understand the concept and that 32 bit registers overlay 16 bit registers.. and 16 bit registers overlay 8 bit registers.. but,i'm still confused when it comes to the the "mov" instruction. for example:

mov(0,al);      // 8 bit register is copied to 0

sub(10,al); // 8 bit register is copied to 10