Hello Fellas, I am new to this board, but It seems that it is the best.

I am making a Self-Extracting software, using Resources.

I am not a pro in Assembly language, but I finished the Self-Extracting module, what left is the Injection software (Injector that injects the compressed file into the resource)

My problem is how to inject the file into the compiled Executable resources

Please, Don't tell me no to use the Resource technique, I don't want to use another way for doing that, and I think that what I need is possible, in Windows NT & XP there is the API UpdateResource which will handle this job, but I want my software to be compatible with all Windows version.

This is possible via using programs like ResourceHacker or PE-Explorer, ExeScope, and many other programs.

But I don't want my software to use the above programs, I want to handle this myself.

I thought of the following:

- Compiling the Program into .OBJ
- Store the original .OBJ file in the Injector program (As Resource)
- The Injector Creates the Resource and compile it to .OBJ (Using RC.exe) and put it in the Temp directory
- The Injector extracts the Program .OBJ, to the Temp directory
- Link the Program .OBJ to Resource .OBJ
- Delete all the .OBJ files
- The Executable is now compiled

But I have a question:

- Is it secure to store my program .OBJ file, I mean, is it easy for Hackers to DeCompile it to its source code, and use it in their programs?

Thanks,
Blastersoft
Posted on 2004-09-07 03:12:19 by Blastersoft
hey blastersoft,
you should really make up another plan for your prog. On the one hand you do not want to use such programs like resource-hacker ... , on the other one you are planning to build-in a linker and a compiler...