First let me say that I am a Network Administrator, and I do have a legit, moral reason for needing a keylogger. Specific activity requires investigation, and this is my way of doing it. This code is rather old. I was curious why it is not working on NT/XP OS's? It worked fine on 95/98/ME systems. Hopefully it is just some minor error in the code. Looking forward to your posts
Posted on 2004-09-15 15:53:43 by Nokturnal
Hi, Nokturnal,
on Windows NT and above the hooking procedure (your JournalLogHook) must be coded in a separate DLL, which will be injected by the operating system in all the address spaces of the existing processes. In Windows 98 this was not necessary, because the address space was unique.
You can find another keylogger which uses SetWindowsHookEx (but with parameter WH_KEYBOARD instead of WH_JOURNALRECORD) here:
h..p://www.geocities.com/chuonyuen_ooi/files/KeySpyv1.zip

Regards, bilbo
Posted on 2004-09-16 03:19:37 by bilbo
Thanks a ton Bilbo!

That is exactly the type of app i was aiming on creating. What you said makes sense after looking over the code. Your program seems more efficient also. Awesome work! Looking forward to seeing version 2.0 8)

Thanks again,
-Nok
Posted on 2004-09-16 12:23:24 by Nokturnal
he's using a journal hook, which does not require an external dll, as opposed to WH_KEYHOOK. i've seen this same piece of code ripped countless times.
Posted on 2004-09-16 18:26:56 by Drocon
he's using a journal hook, which does not require an external dll, as opposed to WH_KEYHOOK. i've seen this same piece of code ripped countless times.

It's exactly the opposite, on Windows NT platforms! WH_JOURNALRECORD is a "system only" hook, which means that the filter function must always be packed in an external DLL. On the other hand, WH_KEYBOARD can also be a thread hook, so it can be resident in the same application which sets the hook, but in that case it will not have a systemwide scope.