Hi all.

I was thinking of do a laboratory for electronic/electricity with the PC, mean that I will like to test diferent electric propierties.

I see that voltmeter and others are in some way easy, the one that should be a problem will be the oscilloscope.

I was thinking that I will need a thing or interface for connect it to my PC via parallel, serial or usb, this thing should send the data not in an analogic way but digital way.

Actually I know I will need a ADC and a PIC, and that the resolution of my oscilloscope will be if I have a ADC of 10Khz the max that I can output a graph is about 5Khz.

But I question, is posible make no use completely of this things?, ie.. do them by myself? and speed up them a little?

I will say you that I am not good at electronic I normally dont enter to that class, also was for that I decide do this thing, because I normally dont enter to the lab at school (and I cant specially use a oscilloscope at house) and is a way that I consider I can be interested in learn more about the subject... .

The questions that I have first are related to what subjects should I know?
- Digital signal processing.
- Clock of a circuit (speed up) .
- Compresion of data in circuits and conversion to a floating point format in circuits.
- Ports of the PC.
In the regard of electronic what more?
- Drivers for the app and the external interface.
- FFT or DFT or both.
- Sampling.
- Fast or direct access to memory (DMA in windows is posible?)
in the regard of software what more?

I have readed some post in this subforum, and I guess some people have that idea before, I will like to know if you ahve done it.

Actually I have finded some sources for oscilloscopes, but like I understand, they read a file in the disck and process it. I will like connect the coaxial and connectors to the interface and process the signal directly without save the signal on disck (but I gues I should use some like save some parts of data when not used...), more using only memory.