There are 2 kinds of brace formatting i usually see when i look at people's code -

Kind (a) - With opening braces on the same line as the construct.
Usually seen in people used to coding in Java.

public class myClass{
public void MyMethod(){
while(i<10){
i++;
}
}
}

Kind (b) - With opening braces on the next line. Usually seen on MSDN examples and most people using MS products seem to prefer this

public class myClass
{
public void MyMethod()
{
while(i<10)
{
i++;
}
}
}

I prefer Kind b
Posted on 2004-10-18 02:55:21 by clippy
method b indeed, a is very ugly.
Posted on 2004-10-18 03:10:57 by lifewire
Method a, but a space between the ) and { is important.
Posted on 2004-10-18 03:56:26 by Eóin
i use method b as i'm used to it. i started programming using this style, however if you want to copy a part of code, it's unconfortable using method b - a would be far better :)

greets, hartyl
Posted on 2004-10-18 04:18:36 by hartyl
I use K&R style:

void func()
{
if (condition) {
}

if (condition2) {
} else {
}
}

I find the brace-per-line approach quite wasteful.
Posted on 2004-10-18 05:30:38 by death
I prefer a. Sometimes I don't even bother indenting. lol.
Posted on 2004-10-18 07:02:09 by roticv
I used to use a, but the company I work for has a coding standard which uses b, so I now use that (and I've used it long enough that I now prefer it).

The real problem I have is propper tokenisation!

"a+=b" vs. "a += b".
"if(a)" vs. "if (a)".

Space between the if and the bracket, no space between a function name and the bracket!

I'm lucky though, the coding standard I've got to follow is fairly lax, another group within the company has a much more strict one. Blank lines before and after comments and other really stupid things that don't make code more readable or maintainable!

Mirno
Posted on 2004-10-18 07:32:46 by Mirno
I like more a, less tyiping be each open brace....

Altought I dont like a lot of things regarded to formating, commenting and documenting.