hello all :-D
im a newbie here and this is my 2nd post, anyway this question has been on my mind after i saw this amazing community.

As a newbie i see alot of options here, i mean i worked with programming before like the C language (but NOT an advanced programmer :lol: ) and i wonder, should we take asm as the same as any language, i mean learn the syntax, do alot of programming examples, read very basic books and documents? or do u suggest another method?

i see alot of very advanced topics here, and i want to be like those guys who post them!! i know it takes alot of time and dedication and im working on it, i think this is the normal method, if u have something else plz share it!

thx
Posted on 2004-11-08 20:14:16 by TylerDurden
Maybe this can help http://www.win32asmcommunity.net/phpwiki
Posted on 2004-11-08 22:20:04 by roticv
I started with the Art of Assembly book by Randy Hyde (http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/AoA/index.html). The parts on High Level Assembly (HLA) I didn't find to be as useful, since I didn't end up using it. But read the stuff on the computer architecture (mostly all of Volume II), especially if you are like I was when I discovered assembly and really had no clue what was going on inside the computer. It will give you a bit of a base to work with when trying to decipher what all the experts here try to explain in terms the rest of us can understand ;)

Be forewarned...the book is HUGE and there is lots to take in...I should probably re-read it sometime, I'm sure I've forgotten much of it :)

Also I would recommend highly Iczelion's tutorials (win32asm.cjb.net) if you want to learn the Windows API.
Posted on 2004-11-08 23:49:36 by sirchess
always my first suggestion:
http://www.drpaulcarter.com/pcasm/
Posted on 2004-11-09 00:17:00 by Drocon
wow guys thx alot
those are alot of good stuff to start with, some of the material i know but alot i still don't :wink:

thx