hi folks
im a asm newbie so i thought this could be the right place to ask some things....
through these days using asm i had a doubt....
when im reading some asm codes i can see a INTENSIVE usage of :
push,eax,cl,cx,mul,div
going deep in math..
for me (a newbie) sounds hard to reach that kind of code...
is there any hint,logic, or tut teaching how to use those math based codes ? :?:
ie:

fmul [vEnd_z]
faddp st(1),st(0)
faddp st(1),st(0)
fld [esi.BSP_PLANE.d]
fadd _offset
fsubp st(1),st(0)
fstp endDistance

:?
the code above is from a opengl BSP loader, but the hard thing (for me) is this :

fld [esi.BSP_PLANE.d]

calling a function from esi or eax or ecx whatever... and some calcs with cl,cx,lowword, highword and stuff...
anyone can help me out ?
thx 8)
Posted on 2004-12-29 09:18:37 by GR33d
Well, to break down the line of code your having a problem with you have to understand structures. Each element in a structure follows the previous one in memory, the distance in bytes from the start of the structure is called the element's offset. A structure is simply a holder for a grouping of data, for example a RECT structure describes a rectangle...

RECT Struct

left DD ?
right DD ?
top DD ?
bottom DD?
RECT ends

This structure holds 4 DWORDs or 16 bytes of data. You can address the individual elements of the structure with the name followed by a . (dot). So to get the DWORD that is held in the top element you would use RECT.top which is equivalent to 8 since RECT.left is 0, RECT.right is 4 etc...

The x86 family of microprocessors allows you to use a general purpose register to address memory. To do this in assembler you enclose the register name in square brackets [] to indicate that you want the data at the address held in the register. You can also perform simple math on the address like adding to it. For example mov eax, .