Hello everyone.

I have been programming since 1988 when I was 6 years old. However, I just started learning assembly (HLA for DOS) just recently. I am fed up with Windows and I want to make my own OS, if only for me to use. I'm not trying to make a kick ass OS to get rich. I just want to do it to see if I can do it.

I can imagine I have tons to learn about assembly; I already know that, and I am up to the task, because I will learn it. Please don't tell me not to waste my time since it will be extremely hard.

Ok, there's some background information. Now, my question is, which version of HLA should I use to make my own OS with? Would any version work? Is there a better version for this type of thing?

Also, is there any tips you experts can give to someone who is determined to do this for educational purposes? This is entirely intended for my own fun and challenge. I highly doubt I will market it.

Fyi, I don't care how long it takes, I will do it. If I have to look up every letter of information myself, I will do it. I just wondered if anyone here could offer me some advice on it.

Such as how to make programs that boot the computer up instead of having to run on Windows or DOS already, in order for them to even run. It would defeat the whole purpose.

Little things like that, that will make a big difference for me.

Thanks in advance guys.

- Diode
Posted on 2005-01-04 00:44:18 by Diode
Diode,

Probably NASM is the right tool for the job here, it will allow you to write the mixed real mode / protected mode code to start the machine and change it to protected mode. Apart from the startup code to get it going, you can program the rest of the OS in more or less whatever you like but C is generally a good candidate here and use assembler to tune hot spots.

I understand that FASM has similar capacity as well for writing mixed real/protected mode code.
Posted on 2005-01-04 00:48:43 by hutch--