What do web servers such as Apache get me over just doing socket programming? Sure I have to do the work but MS charges hundreds of dollars for Win Server but I just don't see why it's so hard to do it yourself using sockets.

But then I notice most people use Apache or IIS so I must be missing something?

(Obviously I'm new to web programming)
Posted on 2005-02-16 13:19:23 by drhowarddrfine
Getting a simple httpd running shouldn't be much of a problem, howard. Weazel did one many years ago entirely in assembly.

The thing with apache and IIS is that they support af lof of things - database integration, scripting languages (most notably PHP and ASP, but others too), various security thingies, and what do I know.

If you only need to serve very simple static pages, you can go with a webserver of your own, or one of the simpler servers. If you need anything dynamic, I'd say go with one of the already existing servers.

Also, if you write your own, be VERY careful with security. I wouldn't write a webserver in assembly, and I'd think twice before writing it in C. I'd chose "non-heavy" C++, or an object-oriented paradigm in C (basically using "dynamic strings", and avoiding direct calls to str* functions and malloc/realloc/delete, to avoid buffer overflows and such.)
Posted on 2005-02-16 14:19:25 by f0dder
I once wrote a httpd in asm (MASM), its free (http://www.japheth.de/download/httpd.zip). It was written mainly as a toy, but it supports ISAPI and because it was really fun I wrote an ISAPI to support active scripting and, with the help of ADO, db access (http://www.japheth.de/download/jasp.zip).

But I somehow agree with f0dder, ASM is not the best language to write a httpd, and the asm server totally lacks security. It also creates a thread for every request (it has no thread pool), so not the best choice for heavy loads.
Posted on 2005-02-19 11:33:37 by japheth
Thanks guys. I was hoping you two would reply.