hi,

Im a complete newbie at assembler, so please dont bash  :(

My problem is this, im trying to construct a simple inline routine in c++ using this code:

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <stdio.h>

void Test1(char* pData);

char format[] = "%d\n";

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
char* pData = "123";
Test1(pData);

return 0;
}

void Test1(char* pData)
{
_asm
{
xor eax, eax                                      ; zero eax
mov al, byte ptr pData[0]       ; <--- Problem is here!!

push eax ; Push last arg
mov  eax , offset format ; Copy format pointer to eax
push eax ; Push format arg onto stack
call printf ; Print out the value of data[0]

pop ebx ; Cleanup stack
pop ebx ; ...
}

int x;
std::cin >> x;
}

Im simply trying to copy the first byte of the char array 'pData[0]' into the al register, but the value 28 is always printed, am i doing something wrong here?

I read that al is the lower 8 bits of of eax, is this correct? or am i maybe doing this wrong?
Posted on 2005-03-17 10:26:34 by SexyBeast
You're loading 'al' with POINTER's least significant byte, not the value's.

use this:

_asm
{
? ? ? ? xor eax, eax? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?; zero eax
mov edx, pData? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?; laod edx with the pointer
mov al, ? ? ? ; <--- load al with first byte at pointer (change the 0 to a different value if you need next bytes. you can also use:? mov al, ? ?(with appropriately prepared ECX) . . .an so on...

push eax ; Push last arg
mov? eax , offset format ; Copy format pointer to eax
push eax ; Push format arg onto stack
call printf ; Print out the value of data[0]

pop ebx ; Cleanup stack
pop ebx ; ...
}

of course this code can be greatly optimised, but that's a different story... :P
Posted on 2005-03-17 10:57:06 by ti_mo_n
Thank you so much, this was driving me crazy :P

Just a quick question, isn't there a way to load//access an array like this without first putting the pointer to it in a register i.e like myArray[0]