Well 1st of all, hi everyone, this is my first post 2 this messageboard, so before u go on u can't say that i didn't warned you :-). im a total beginner with win32asm, so my question may seem silly 4 1st.

my problem is the next: i wrote a prog that superclasses the static label control 2 be a kind of a button, this all works kinda well 2 me, but i've got a problem with the WM_PAINT section of the prog. What i want to do here is 2 draw somekind of a basic border to my window (i have the WS_POPUP style for the window style i dont know is this important) and yeas i tried also with DrawEdge to draw the border, but that didn't worked as i expected, so i tried instead to draw with simple lines. So here is the code:

.ELSEIF uMsg==WM_PAINT
invoke BeginPaint,hWnd,addr ps ; gets the windows dc
mov hDc1,eax

invoke CreateSolidBrush,0h ; creates the black brush
mov BbrUsh,eax

invoke CreateSolidBrush,0ffffffh ; creates the white brush
mov WbrUsh,eax

invoke SelectObject,hDc1,BbrUsh ; selects the black brush into the dc & saves the old
mov OldBrush,eax

invoke MoveToEx,hDc1,0,16,addr pNt ; draws the 1st rectangle
invoke LineTo,hDc1,399,16
invoke LineTo,hDc1,399,199
invoke LineTo,hDc1,0,199
invoke LineTo,hDc1,0,16

invoke SelectObject,hDc1,WbrUsh ; selects the white brush into the dc

invoke MoveToEx,hDc1,0,14,addr pNt ; and here although it draws the 2nd rectangle
invoke LineTo,hDc1,0,0? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?; but with black color !!!!!
invoke LineTo,hDc1,399,0? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ; although i selected the white brush into the dc !!
invoke LineTo,hDc1,399,14
invoke LineTo,hDc1,0,14

invoke SelectObject,hDc1,OldBrush ; restores the brush and stops painting
invoke EndPaint,hWnd,addr ps

So my question here is, why the heck the 2nd rectangle isn't drawed with white color, because i did selected the white brush into the dc before drawing it ???

thanx,
Posted on 2005-05-24 11:31:20 by berril
Select a Pen into the DC if you're using LineTo.
Posted on 2005-05-24 12:13:37 by JimmyClif