Hi

I'm new to programming and starting to learn it from the ground up. I want to make a move to understanding 16 bit dos and windows and then to 32 bit dos and windows.

I'm looking for the Microsoft SDK 3.0 or 3.1. I've looked around MSDN site but couldn't find this SDK version. If it is legal, can this be obtained by downloading from a site that has it. If it not, where can I buy it. I've looked around everywhere, even on ebay.

Another question, is this SDK bundled along with other Microsoft product?

Here are the list of tools I'm looking for:

RC.EXE? (SDK v3 .O)
RCPP.EXE (SDK v3 .O)
RCPP.ERR (SDK ~3.0)
LIB W.LIB (SDK ~3.0)
SLIBCEW.LIB (SDK ~3.0)
WINSTUB.EXE (from the SDK)

Is the SDK bundled with Visual C++ 1.5, Microsoft C/C++ 6,7 and later?

I'm not restricting the SDK solely to the version 3.0 or 3.1 but to versions that uses windows 3.x standards. What are the other versions that is compatible with windows 3.x?

You maybe wondering why I would need this old legacy tool for windows 3.x development. The reason is that I want to learn assembly language programming from a book called "Windows Assembly Language and System Programming, 16 and 32 bit low level programming for the PC and Windows, Second Edition by Barry Kauler".

I'm aware I could use Borland products to do this without getting the SDK, but I want to be consistent and use masm related products.

Thanks
Posted on 2005-06-09 08:38:59 by evangelionep25_26
AFAIK  MS stopped the support for Windows95, not to mention the 16-bit ones  :shock:  start learning from 32-bit windows - it's easier,more practical, and has much much much documentation/tutorials/support on the web (for example: this forum).
Posted on 2005-06-09 08:50:58 by ti_mo_n
I agree with timon - start with 32bit assembly. If you later on feel a need for 16bit, you can then start to pursue it.
Posted on 2005-06-10 09:22:02 by f0dder