Hi, i found a lot of wsprintf topics on the forum and read a few but none of them covered my problem so i opened a new thread and hope thats ok.

Here we go:

I wrote a little program which uses wsprintf and used C calling convention (.model Flat,C)

Thats what the linker gave me

Scrnsize.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _ExitProcess
Scrnsize.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _GetCommandLineA
Scrnsize.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _GetModuleHandleA
Scrnsize.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _GetSystemMetrics
Scrnsize.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _MessageBoxA

I dont know much about C but it seems to me as if the compiler created some links to several c specific functions, right? (because of the _ infront of the API function names)

After that i tried stdcall instead of c and it works fine now but i dont understand why.

I'm a beginner and i learned that wsprintf has no way to find out how many parameters it gets passed so it can't do the stack handling. Thats why i should use c calling convention which sounds logic but why does it work anyway and what errors do i have to expect in the future if i keep using it with stdcall?
Posted on 2005-07-16 14:55:35 by LittleEndian
The MASM32 includes are written in the assumption that you use STDCALL calling convention, and won't work otherwise. It's a simple fix to make the includes work in other calling conventions, but as usual the fix won't be made. So, use the STDCALL calling convention, and if you need C calling convention some places, add "C" to the function prototype... Or, go through all the MASM32 includes, and add "STDCALL" :)
Posted on 2005-07-16 15:22:29 by f0dder

[...] if you need C calling convention some places, add "C" to the function prototype... [...]

You mean like:

MyFunction PROTO C :DWORD,:DWORD,...? ?

Does that work? The compiler doesnt just regard "C" as a parameter of DWORD type?

If that works, thx for the advice :)