ok i am a beginner assembler programmer, teaching myself how to code asm. through tutorials etc. i thought i'd learn com based (consol) asm first so i can get the meat, before i go and use windows. as that way i am not clouded by loads of skeleton code to do with the window. i just have infront of me the code that does what i want it to.

i wrote a simple input code. based on information i had aquired from posts, and tutorials. and reading Hla.
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=4122

now i want to advance the code, IF you don't hit the correct key, the code just loops and theres no way to exit, ok proberly ctrl+c and obviously closing the window.

but i was wondering how i could watch constantly for the enter key. if that key is pressed the code automatically stops.
how could i do this.
o if you hadn't realised i am using fasm.
Posted on 2005-09-25 03:16:45 by Damnation
Hi there!
I've wrote that example for you. There are several ways to generate 'hotkeys' in you applications. In this example ,i represent the eaysiest way to do it:

with WM_CHAR message ,after this message is catched ,the wParam will hold the keycode of the pressed key.
My suggestion is if you app is not a huge one or too compex to use this method.
The other one is most convinient for large program and use it in my programs all the time - Accelerator table. Read more about that if you whant to:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/en-us/wceshellui5/ html/wce50conLoadingandActivatinganAcceleratorTable.asp

Attachments:
Posted on 2005-09-25 04:40:03 by shaka_zulu
I decide to make an example with accelerator table too! Is a little bit comlex but this is the better option !!!
Greetings and thanks for reply !!!
;)
Posted on 2005-09-25 07:49:22 by shaka_zulu