Hello, im pretty new to ASM so im not really capable to fix my own code yet. Thats why im asking here, im hoping someone can tell me exactly what im doing wrong. So i can learn from your experience.
I can write the rwally basic program that displays a console window and where you can just type in it.

.MODEL SMALL
.CODE
MOV AH, 08H
INT 21H
MOV DL, AL
MOV AH, 02H
INT 21H
MOV AH, 4CH
INT 21H
END

Just to show you how 'far' i am. As you can see i just started out.
But i do know C++, so i thought im gonna write a simple app that just brings up the console window.
I wrote this small code.

#include <windows.h>

void main()
{
char buf[4];
buf[0] = 'c';
buf[1] = 'm';
buf[2] = 'd';
buf[3] = '\0';

WinExec(buf,SW_SHOW);

exit(1);
}

In MSVC++ you can disassemble you own code, so i did that and i got this output.

push        ebp
mov        ebp,esp
sub        esp,44h
push        ebx
push        esi
push        edi
lea        edi,
mov        ecx,11h
mov        eax,0CCCCCCCCh
rep stos    dword ptr

mov        byte ptr ,63h
mov        byte ptr ,6Dh
mov        byte ptr ,64h
mov        byte ptr ,0

mov        esi,esp
push        5
lea        eax,
push        eax
call        dword ptr [KERNEL32_NULL_THUNK_DATA (004241f8)]
cmp        esi,esp
call        __chkesp (00401070)

push        1
call        exit (00401a30)

Okay, im not that good yet so this doesnt make much sens for me yet. But i tried to compile this code with a MASM compiler. But i gave an error for everyline of code.
All i added was this line at the top:

.MODEL SMALL
.CODE

and under that the ASM code i got from the disassembler.

This is the error i got most:
error A2005: instruction or register not accepted in current CPU mode.

Can someone just tell me why im getting this errors, and why  it isnt possible to use that ASM code and all.
Thanks for any help.
Posted on 2005-09-29 10:25:49 by vivendi
Hello,