basically planning my new computer. i ain't into amd  so no trying to covert me!

basically,
http://www.techfever.co.uk/products.asp?recnumber=1501 is £5 more expensive with 1mb cache.

and
http://www.techfever.co.uk/products.asp?recnumber=2533 is £5 cheaper, with 2mb cache, and 64bit tech

which one would u suggest?

i don't know why the one without 64bit and 1mb cache is more expensive....
Posted on 2005-10-21 04:16:28 by Damnation
The first one is out of stock, when its back in they'll probably reprice it.
Posted on 2005-10-21 06:56:04 by Eóin
which do u think is better?
Posted on 2005-10-21 07:03:58 by Damnation
The cheaper one seems to be going on specs, but I'm no expert. Try searching for some benchmarks with include it.
Posted on 2005-10-21 12:26:06 by Eóin
You don't want Intel. Trust me. They might retake the pole position with their next generation of chips, but as it currently is, they run hotter (use more power) and don't perform better. Get an AMD64, preferably a dual-core if you have the money to burn.

I just replaced my (nice and speedy) AMD64 3500+ with a (even nicer and speedier) AMD64x2 4400+, and SLI asus board. Vrooom! - and that using a LOT less power and generating a LOT less heat than an intel system. And with a stock cooler that's a lot less noisier.
Posted on 2005-10-21 15:44:00 by f0dder
I used to be Intel only, right up to the AMD 64. I've noticed that the Pentium IVs run much hotter, and seem poorly designed (everything but the kitchen sink). Before the Pentium IV, Intel was doing great. They need to shift their focus into the "powerful, yet simple" approach (true RISC).

I know it sucks that AMD uses the XXXX+ (mine is 3400+), and in reality it is only 2.4GHz. The up-shot is that there is more done in that clock cycle. Never let clock speeds fool you, CPU efficiency is more important.
Posted on 2005-10-21 16:46:02 by SpooK