Hi,

I want to write a kind of basic-compiler, which compiles a basic language into assembler-code (MASM). I've already finished the scanner and the parser, but now I have problems with creating the asm-code. I must admit that I have no great knowledge about assembler and so I need some help. In the moment my greatest problem is to concatenate two strings. In the MASM-Package I found the szMultiCat and the szCopy function, which help my with this problem.

.Data
stext1 DB "Hallo ",0
stext2 DB "World!",0

.Data?
StringBuffer DB 100 DUP(?)
.Code

push Offset stext2
push Offset stext1
push Offset StringBuffer
push 2
call szMultiCat
push Offset stext1
push Offset StringBuffer
call szCopy

But if the string is to small to hold the new content, other strings will be overwritten. I hope you can help my.
Posted on 2005-12-31 03:35:41 by Jigo
In MASM if really it is in MASM you want to write code..

thre concatenation of t\wo strings may be done with API lstrcat.....

Posted on 2005-12-31 04:44:29 by gerard
Gerand, his code is perfect (some people just dont like using invoke)

Personally I would suggest that you use dynamically allocated strings if you want string size that can expand and contract (That's the purpose of these dyanmically allocated data right?). However, I would suggest you start simple and get use to MASM first. Enjoy your project.

Regards,
Victor
Posted on 2005-12-31 05:19:02 by roticv
Thank you for your code Gerard, but it doesn't solve my problem. If I copy the content of StringBuffer back into stext1 then other strings will be overwritten.

In MASM if really it is in MASM you want to write code..

Yes, I use MASM, but I don't use invoke, because it's easier to pass the parameters of the token-stream created by my scanner by the stack than by invoke.

Personally I would suggest that you use dynamically allocated strings if you want string size that can expand and contract