Hello, I am fairly new to ASM. I've started off with the tutorials on win32asm.cjb.net. They were alright until it go to the 'simple window #3' part.
What I don't get is, where does all this code come from?

invoke WinMain, hInstance,NULL,CommandLine, SW_SHOWDEFAULT        ; call the main function
invoke ExitProcess, eax                          ; quit our program. The exit code is returned in eax from WinMain.

WinMain proc hInst:HINSTANCE,hPrevInst:HINSTANCE,CmdLine:LPSTR,CmdShow:DWORD
    LOCAL wc:WNDCLASSEX                                            ; create local variables on stack
    LOCAL msg:MSG
    LOCAL hwnd:HWND

mov  wc.cbSize,SIZEOF WNDCLASSEX                  ; fill values in members of wc
    mov  wc.style, CS_HREDRAW or CS_VREDRAW
    mov  wc.lpfnWndProc, OFFSET WndProc
    mov  wc.cbClsExtra,NULL
    mov  wc.cbWndExtra,NULL
    push  hInstance
    pop  wc.hInstance
    mov  wc.hbrBackground,COLOR_WINDOW+1
    mov  wc.lpszMenuName,NULL
    mov  wc.lpszClassName,OFFSET ClassName
    invoke LoadIcon,NULL,IDI_APPLICATION
    mov  wc.hIcon,eax
    mov  wc.hIconSm,eax
    invoke LoadCursor,NULL,IDC_ARROW
    mov  wc.hCursor,eax
    invoke RegisterClassEx, addr wc                      ; register our window class
    invoke CreateWindowEx,NULL,\
                ADDR ClassName,\
                ADDR AppName,\
                WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW,\
                CW_USEDEFAULT,\
                CW_USEDEFAULT,\
                CW_USEDEFAULT,\
                CW_USEDEFAULT,\
                NULL,\
                NULL,\
                hInst,\
                NULL
    mov  hwnd,eax
    invoke ShowWindow, hwnd,CmdShow              ; display our window on desktop
    invoke UpdateWindow, hwnd 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Posted on 2006-03-09 19:28:56 by bionet
bionet,