Hello,

I am a bit new at assembly and I have side tracked myself into wondering how you call a function in a windows dll, (kernel32.dll for example) that only exports itself with an ordinal number.

Functions with only ordinal numbers don't seem to show up in the various inc files. Apparently if I call the function dynamically GetProcAdddress will cope with ordinal numbers as well as names.
I learnt this from http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/tut17.html and http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/en-us/dllproc/dll_0f8z.asp?frame=true

But what if I want to call the function statically.
Posted on 2001-12-19 16:04:04 by DiaZ
Use GetProcAddress to get its location in memory, then push the parameters onto the stack (in right-to-left order), then do a CALL to the address returned by GetProcAddress.

When you say you want to call it "statically", i assume that you mean you want to hardcode the address of the exported function into your app, that is not a good idea. Dlls have a base address they get loaded at, but they can be loaded at a new address if something is already occupying that address space (although i don't know if this also applies to critical dlls like kernel32).
Posted on 2001-12-19 21:02:46 by sluggy
Maybe I have got the wrong end of the stick, and maybe what I am thinking about isn't possible, but I imagined using the inculdelib directive to statically link into my program a function from
some.dll via some.lib. i.e. "includelib some.lib" Or can't you do this ??

I realize you need to have the approprate .lib file for the .dll file, but in the case of kernel32.dll for example this is no problem.
Posted on 2001-12-20 09:04:43 by DiaZ
I see what you mean. If the dll has been statically linked, use GetModuleHandle to get the handle to the dll before calling GetProcAddress. Check out the doco for GetModuleHandle here.
Posted on 2001-12-20 14:53:51 by sluggy
Ok, makes sence.