Hello,

I am a college student and I have been assigned the task of finding a new assembler and debugger to use for our university's Assembly Programming class.  We are currently using TASM and Turbo Debugger in a Win32 environment.

We would like to move to 32bit.  I think all projects will be console based, so using INT 80h or making a driver to use Win32 console calls is acceptable.  I have looked at various assemblers ranging from FASM, to MASM32, and NASM. I even looked at using GCC with inline assembly.  The problem is, I cannot find a 32-bit Assembler / Debugger combo that will work well together.  The assembler and debugger can be (and probably will be) separate packages. 

However, I cannot find a single debugger that correctly imports the symbols exported by the assembler.  I found one or two combinations that DID work, unfortunately they where pseudo-assemblers;  A86/D86 for example.

Has anyone taking a college Assembly class? If so, what software was used?  If not, can you recommend software that YOU use while writing assembly. IBM or AT&T syntax is acceptable.

Thank you so much for you time, please respond with any/all questions and comments.
Posted on 2006-04-14 18:13:20 by AngryLlama
I generally use NASM32, MASM32, or FASM as my assemblers. Debuggers vary on the project. For Windows I tend to use OllyDBG but WinDBG is fairly good as well. Kernel Mode Debugging I use either SoftICE or Microsoft's KMD (if I have an extra comp around). For Linux/BSD I tend to use GDB as it's always there. WinDBG has a slight added advantage to it's debugger that the symbol files can be imported as needed from msdl.microsoft.com/symbols (or something like that) using a .SYMSRV command (read the help file that comes with it) so you never have to worry about updating your symbols.

Regards,
Bryant Keller
Posted on 2006-04-14 19:31:25 by Synfire