Okay, I'm completely new to scopes. I'd like to use a scope to display logic levels from PIC circuits. From what I've read I need 1.5ns risetime  and ~200mhz. Is this correct, or can I get away with less bandwidth??? This is based on TTL levels. I dont really want to spend $1000+ for something, especially if it's overkill. Would a scope of less bandwidth even display TTL logic levels? Should I be looking at a logic analyzer instead??? Would an analogue CRT scope be adequate, or do I need digital? I'd appreciate any input!
Posted on 2006-04-15 11:29:39 by The Dude of Dudes
I would get a scope before getting a logic analyzer. You can see things a logic analyzer won't display, such as jitter, ringing, and other forms of signal distortion. And it will double as a scope for any analog circuits you attach to the PICs.

You want digital, because the storage capability allows the scope to "freeze" the waveform display. You want at least two channels, so that you can see relative timings between signals. Two channels are sufficient, although occassionally, it's nice to have another channel.

100 MHz bandwidth should be more than enough for PICs. How low your bandwidth can be depends on the maximum speed you will run your PICs, or any other digital projects you work on.
Posted on 2006-04-15 19:46:49 by tenkey
Tenkey,

I'm generally using a 20mhz resonator for timing with my PICs, and don't think I'll be using a scope for anything more advanced than this.
Posted on 2006-04-15 21:32:25 by The Dude of Dudes

If you can, try to obtain an oscilloscope with more than one 'trace', ie dual trace, and make sure you can set the timebase on each trace separately..

Single-trace scopes are nice, but not nice enough..
Posted on 2006-04-16 02:43:15 by Homer
Or connect your circuit to a PC ;)
Posted on 2006-04-16 08:05:59 by ti_mo_n