I'd like to ask several questions regarding assembly.  I am a C++ student using MSVC++ 2005's inline __asm {} to learn the basics of assembly.
The code I'm trying to optimize:
template<class T>
int CBinaryHeap<T>::moveUp(int index, int newKey)
{
  register int current2 = index>>1;
  while (index > 1) {//while there is a parent to compare
  if (BinaryHeap.key > newKey) {
    BinaryHeap = BinaryHeap;//move parent down
    index = current2;//on the next iteration, compare the parent
    current2 >>= 1;//divided by 2, points to the parent of the parent
  }
  else {
    break;//we can stop comparing, we've found the index to insert at
  }
  }
  return (index);
}//end moveUp

A Binary Heap is a sorted structure, basically a tree inside an array, and its indexs serve as pointers to tree members.  To insert an element onto the heap, it is placed at the end of the array.  The newly placed element is then iteratively compared with its parent node and filters up, the parent moving down each time.  To avoid temporary objects and extra assignments, the insertion and moving up have been seperated into two functions.  The new element is not actually placed on the binary heap until its index has been determined, and all its parents have moved down.  I have implemented the binary heap to have one extra element.  The root of the tree is at Heap[1], its two children are at 2 and 3, etc; this saves a bit of pointer calculation.  The datatype of data  and key is an int.

In the moveUp function, index is the heapSize, the index of the last element - or where it would be placed if following the standard algorithm.  Current2 is the parent, or index / 2.