Hello.. I am a complete newb when it comes to assembly programming and all this windows creation stuff is a little over my head at the moment..

I have a couple of questions tho, hope you can help :)

1. I want to be able to output in a simple manner.. how do I make the program output into the command line instead of having to create a whole window and so on to be able to get some output... something similar to C's cout function.

2. Is it impossible to use dos interrupts under windows xp? Most of the tutorials I have looked at on the web deal with them (like int 21h) but I cant seem to be able to run them under windows.. is this a limitation or are they just overall not needed anymore?

3. Do you know some site with useful beginner knowledge.. The sites I have checked out all have the same info (how to count in boolean and hex, how the memory works, a couple of opcodes) but what about the rest.. like macros? (what the hell are they anyway :P) Procedures? and so on..

Hope for lots of replys, peace out. 8)
Posted on 2006-06-15 08:03:25 by talmir
Hi,

1) If using MASM32, use the StdOut function in it's library. If not, you can use the GetStdHandle and WriteFile API functions.

2) No, interrupts are off limits under all 32-bit versions of windows (for 32-bit code). 16-bit code used them under DOS, but that is a long time ago now. They are not needed anymore and this is a blessing as the Windows API is much easier to use and much more powerful.

3) I reccommend Iczelion's tutorials for most of your needs: http://win32assembly.online.fr/tutorials.html

If you have any more questions, people here will be happy to help, I'm sure.

Ossa
Posted on 2006-06-15 08:17:05 by Ossa
Welcome onboard! :)

#1: what you want to make is a "console mode" application. You can then use ReadFile and WriteFile on the console, like you could use similar functions in C/C++. First, you need to call GetStdHandle to obtain STD_INPUT_HANDLE (for read) and STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE (for write).