Hi!

This is my first post on the board, though I've been an avid assembly guy for several years.

I've been working on my OS project off and on for a few years, and once again have motivation to really get things going.  I've got the project on Google Hosting now, and have already made some progress for the first time in months.  Check out http://code.google.com/p/pwnos/ if you're interested, and if you're interested in helping out, awesome.  People are so divided among so many projects that it's amazing that much gets done on any of them (me being hypocritical, of course, hehe).

As a side note, I recently discovered the documentation generator Natural Docs, and it's really helped me get organized and stay focused.  It should help out for if other people want to be part of the team too.  You can see some of my documentation so far at http://www.scs.carleton.ca/~ndickson/os/documentation/ or download the most recent from the repository at Google Hosting.

A few things I'm completely clueless on, like ethernet card drivers.  Is it just me, or are they completely destandardized at the device control level?  While I'm at it, maybe I should wish for graphics card specs too.  Maybe knowing something about the PCI protocols would help.  Oh well, much of the I/O section can be left for after I have basic functionality.

At earlier stages in its development, I had it rendering 3D scenes from data on a FAT partition, and I had mouse and keyboard I/O.  Ironically, it does none of that right now, it's just a lot better organized to actually be an OS instead of a random conglomeration of code.