Hi All,
What would be involved with using existing C++ lib's with assembler?
Say you want to use a lib such as Qt or wxWidgets for a gui, you have to derive you own window object from one in their lib, how would you go about this in asm??
I'm still learning asm and I'd really like to use it for my development (particularly HLA) but I'd like to stay OS independant, I have no problem with the win32 api but I think I need a bit more functionality than what X Windows offers for linux or is it basically the same as win32??
thanks,
Mick.
Posted on 2006-09-04 17:46:33 by MickD
Using a C lib from assembly is easy.

Using C++ can get nasty because of name decoration, and -IMHO- isn't really worth it - better to use C++ with assembly, then.
Posted on 2006-09-04 19:14:37 by f0dder

Using C++ can get nasty because of name decoration, and -IMHO- isn't really worth it - better to use C++ with assembly, then.

Thanks f0dder, I figured as much but it would've be nice to keep it all into one language.

If this was a bit easier in assembler I'm sure there would be a lot more people using it. :)

Posted on 2006-09-04 19:31:54 by MickD

Thanks f0dder, I figured as much but it would've be nice to keep it all into one language.

If this was a bit easier in assembler I'm sure there would be a lot more people using it. :)

Well, it CAN be done for most stuff - use "SYSCALL" for the MASM protos, figure out what kind of name mangling your compiler uses (this *will* differ from compiler to compiler), figure out where to put "this" (register or stack), etc... it's not pretty. Macros can probably help, but still.
Posted on 2006-09-04 19:33:42 by f0dder

Well, it CAN be done for most stuff - use "SYSCALL" for the MASM protos, figure out what kind of name mangling your compiler uses (this *will* differ from compiler to compiler), figure out where to put "this" (register or stack), etc... it's not pretty. Macros can probably help, but still.