OK, Like every guy who thinks he knows how to code... I eventually got fed up with all the bells and whistles we have to go thru to open a simple file. Boot up the computer... log on... Wait for the gong (for you mac users) or the "PC windup" for everyone else.

I have done a lot of programming on a lot of systems using many different languages. I am not an expert on any system. And when I get over my head I always ask the smart guys/gals.

I have enough experience to know how to read, understand, and implement code, but most of the time when advanced coders get too far out there I gotta ask them to stop  and use smaller words ;) .

I use the parts of some systems and then throw away the rest. Mostly splices ( i prefer not to call it hacks --- bad connotation) Unix DB needs to talk to windows server and the end user is running mac os 9 Java VM in a IE browser.
Some of you are feeling my pain. 

I also do some really low level electronics projects e.g.  soldering, capacitors, resistors, voltage regulators, IC's and breadboards.  <--- I'm not good at that either.

Here's what I know:
You car has a 12v DC Battery... The maximum amount of power a standard ATX MB expects is 12v DC.  We plug our computers into the wall socket.. the power supply turns AC current to DC current and uses Buck converters to lower the voltage to accomodate the very low volatges that a Motherboard expects.  I know there are dc step down converters for this... $60 retail!!!!

I WANT TO GEEK OUT MY CAR!!!!!!!!

Here's the problem:
1) Shutting down and opening up an O/S on an x86 is a pain in the "caboose". Timewise and CPU cycle (Power) wise.

2) 12v DC battery can't run an A/C ATX board and LCD 15" monitor when the car is off. MB? maybe... if I can get rid of the HD. USB uses < 1.5v. Mass Storage $30 for 512 MB... enough for an O/S.