Hi, Im new to assembly and need a little help. I have a simple program in which the user uses the "File" menu to select "Download" and a file is then downloaded to their temp folder. Nothing is wrong with the program but the memory it uses I am a little unsure over since I'm not familiar freeing/using memory etc. I will paste the important parts of the code:

In the first program I define szPath in .data section:

.data
szPath              BYTE MAX_PATH dup(?) 
szFile      BYTE "file.zip", 0
szURL        BYTE "http://127.0.0.1/file.zip", 0

DownloadFile PROC
invoke GetTempPath, MAX_PATH, addr szPath
invoke lstrcat, addr szPath, addr szFile
invoke URLDownloadToFile, NULL, addr szURL, addr szPath, 0, NULL
ret
DownloadFile ENDP

And then in WndProc I have.......
.if eax==IDM_FILE_DL
call DownloadFile

In the second program I use GlobalAlloc to define the size of Path instead of sticking it in the .data section:

AllocMem MACRO howbig
    invoke GlobalAlloc,GHND,howbig
    mov hMemory,eax
    invoke GlobalLock,eax
    mov pMemory,eax
ENDM

DeAllocMem MACRO
    invoke GlobalUnlock,pMemory
    invoke GlobalFree,hMemory
    mov hMemory,0
ENDM

.data
szFile      BYTE "file.zip", 0
szURL        BYTE "http://127.0.0.1/file.zip", 0

.data?
hMemory DWORD ?
pMemory DWORD ?

DownloadFile PROC

AllocMem MAX_PATH ; MAX_PATH IS A CONST FOR 256 I believe..

invoke GetTempPath, MAX_PATH, pMemory
invoke lstrcat, pMemory, addr szFile
invoke URLDownloadToFile, NULL, addr szURL, pMemory, 0, NULL

DeAllocMem

;Very simple test to see if it worked
.if eax==NULL
PrintText "Memory DeAllocated"
.endif

ret
DownloadFile ENDP

.if eax==IDM_FILE_DL
call DownloadFile

What I don't understand is that when I'm defining szPath with GlobalAlloc and freeing it afterwards it uses MORE memory than just allocating the data from the start of the program.

Am I doing something wrong?

Posted on 2007-03-25 11:53:26 by infinite