I'm a programmer with a background in high-level languages like Java, C#, and ActionScript. 

Recently however I've tried to branch out into the exciting worlds of Assembly and C/C++.  I really like Visual Studio as a native C compiler, so I decided to do inline assembly. 

My goal is to be able to have most of my code written in C, but have a handful of codes which are ran very often written in Assembly. 

But here's the thing I don't get...  Once I mov a variable in assembly to a location in memory like:

mov memLoc, eax ;where eax is a register

How do I access that variable in C?  I realize this is a very n00bish and stupid question, yet I am only beginning to learn Assembly. 

Also, how do I know where to put my finished data into memory.  I'm used to having the compiler automatically work with an unused location in memory like int a = 2;
Posted on 2007-04-01 10:35:19 by Al6200
I didn't get it correctly but I can give a sample

VOID
memset(
PVOID pMem,
BYTE bByte,
UINT uiLen )
{
__asm
{
mov edi, pMem
xor eax, eax
mov al, bByte
mov ecx, uiLen
rep stosb
}
}

C variables can be accessed like that example
Posted on 2007-04-01 10:56:17 by Dite

I didn't get it correctly but I can give a sample

VOID
memset(
PVOID pMem,
BYTE bByte,
UINT uiLen )
{
__asm
{
mov edi, pMem
xor eax, eax
mov al, bByte
mov ecx, uiLen
rep stosb
}
}

C variables can be accessed like that example

Thanks for the reply.  Would you mind if I asked some n00bly questions though? 

What's the point of xor eax, eax?  Won't it always just make eax 0, since eax and eax are always the same...  So basically you're just moving all these memory-defined vars into registers and then rep stosb?  What does rep stosb do? 

Are all of those registers you assigned to identical, or are they all different in terms of purpose? 

I'm sorry for asking so many n00b-like questions, but how do I actually use this code to good effect.  How do I know what memory is writable, so I can use it?