Hey people,

I'm new here to the forum and I'm new to assembly programming. First off all I want to excuse me for my 'bad' english, hopefully you all understand what I'm talking about  :).

My Question
Because I'm a beginner I had in my mind to program something in asm that can make a new file and write some lines in it.
This is my code:
section .data
fileName db "file.txt", 0

fileText db "This is a stringe on the first line <linebreak> This should be on the second line", 0x0a
fileTextLen equ $-fileText

section .text
global _start

_start:
mov eax, 8   ; system call create
mov ebx, fileName ; Filename
mov ecx, 00644Q ; Write/Read permission in octal
int 0x80     ; Execute

mov ebx, eax   ; filedescriptor from sys_create() in ebx

mov eax, 4   ; system call write
;           ebx allready exists
mov ecx, fileText   ; fileText in ecx
mov edx, fileTextLen ; length from fileText in edx
int 0x80       ; Execute

mov eax, 6     ; system call close
;           ebx bestaat al
int 0x80       ; Execute

mov eax, 1     ; system call exit
mov ebx, 0     ; Exit with error code 0
int 0x80       ; Execute

So this is my code and everything works perfect. The string i'm talking about is:

fileText db "This is a stringe on the first line <linebreak> This should be on the second line", 0x0a

Now I should replace <linebreak> in something that will give me a new line. I tried \r and \n (C++ linebreaks) but it didn't do anything.

Hopefully you guys can help me.
Posted on 2007-08-02 05:11:09 by Franchise
I found a solution to my problem.

fileText      db "This is my string at line 1", 0x0a, "This is my string at line 2", 0x0a, "This is my string at line 3"

Can you guys give me a yes if this is correct.

Thank you
Posted on 2007-08-02 05:44:53 by Franchise