I am new to the MASM syntax, and was wondering if there is a reason why PROC declarations are not strong typed to the type of pointer they need? Wouldn't this prevent a lot of errors at compile time? As an example, if a PROC needs a pointer to a string - shouldn't that parameter be defined as a pointer to a string rather than a DWORD (We all know pointer are DWORD on this 32 bit OS :) ) I understand this allows a bit of flexiblity in the pass parameter, but at a great cost. Or, maybe I miss something? Thank you, bitRAKE This message was edited by bitRAKE, on 1/25/2001 12:34:59 AM
Posted on 2001-01-25 00:34:00 by bitRAKE
There is no reason why you cannot use strong type your procedures in MASM. However, the question is do you really want to? Windows defines near a hundred different types that all come down to one thing: A DWORD. Learning that a FOO is of type BAH is declared a BEEP which is finally a LONG doesn't teach you much, and may contribute as many bugs as it prevents. Sure, strong typing does keep you from assigning an hBrush where a hDC is expected, but so should a little common sense. hutch chose to just use just the data sizes in the .inc files of masm32, and I agree with this choice.
Posted on 2001-01-25 00:48:00 by Ernie