hi guys, im just starting out in asm and im trying to get the windows text that the mouse is over into an edit box. i have the code in a timer (WM_TIMER) invoke GetCursorPos, addr pt invoke WindowFromPoint, addr pt.x, addr pt.y mov WindowID, eax invoke GetWindowText, WindowID, addr buffer, 255 invoke SendMessage, TextBoxID, WM_SETTEXT, 0, addr buffer for some reason it wont get any windows caption at all, does anyone know what the problem could be?
Posted on 2001-01-27 12:29:00 by hehe
Per MSDN, "GetWindowText cannot retrieve the text of a control in another application." Oops :-)
Posted on 2001-01-27 12:53:00 by Ernie
oh =(, do you know how i could fix the code to make it work good? =]
Posted on 2001-01-28 13:19:00 by hehe
Learn how to navigate Microsoft's online documentation at http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp The docs for GetWindowText say to SendMessage WM_GETTEXT. There's even a link to the WM_GETTEXT message.

SendMessage( 
  (HWND) hWnd,              // handle to destination window 
  WM_GETTEXT,               // message to send
  (WPARAM) wParam,          // number of characters to copy
  (LPARAM) lParam           // text buffer
);
This message was edited by tank, on 1/29/2001 1:56:29 AM This message was edited by tank, on 2/1/2001 11:18:09 PM
Posted on 2001-01-29 01:56:00 by tank
sorry to keep bothering you guys like this but i really cant seem to figure this out :(. i tried WM_GETTEXT this time and for some reason it still wont work. I checked to see if it was finding the window for it to grab the text from and its not picking it up at all - heres what i put: pt: POINT WindowID dword 0 invoke GetCursorPos, addr pt invoke WindowFromPoint, addr pt.x, addr pt.y mov WindowID, eax .if (WindowID != NULL) invoke SendMessage, WindowID, WM_GETTEXT, 255, addr buffer invoke SendMessage, TextBoxID, WM_SETTEXT, 0, addr buffer .endif
Posted on 2001-01-29 12:57:00 by hehe