Hi everyone ! Great forum indeed. Needless to mention I am fairly new to this, so any help on the following will be greatly appreciated: I try to make a dialog box with 2 buttons appear when an item from a menu in the main window is chosen. Depending on the button from the dialog box clicked, an appropriate action is implemented. I create the main window in the main window procedure (using CreateWindowEx) and after the required menu item is chosen I try to create the dialog box from a template in a resource file by invoking CreateDialogParam (in the WndProc procedure !?!?). The dialog box messages are supposed to be processed by a DlgProc procedure. Can this be done at all? The exe file only displays the main window and menu, but when that menu item is clicked the dialog box is not displayed. As I mentioned I know this can be done in a better way, but I wanted to try this as well. Thanx for any suggestions.
Posted on 2001-02-28 02:46:00 by matz
Hi if i understand you right ,you want to create a small message box with two buttons(like for YES and NO). you can simply insert a MESSAGEBOX (call messagebox.....)and modify it like you need. i mean you can change the buttons or the icon of the message. so there is no neednes of a extra dialogfield ;) just check out the first tutorials found on this page. cu
Posted on 2001-02-28 03:48:00 by WH¥
Thanks for the suggestion mate. As I said, I am aware of various ways for doing it, but I was really experimenting to see if I can use CreateDialogParam this way.
Posted on 2001-02-28 06:15:00 by matz
WndProc proc hWnd:HWND, uMsg:UINT, wParam:WPARAM, lParam:LPARAM . . .IF uMsg==WM_COMMAND mov eax, wParam .if ax==IDM_CREATE_DIALOG_BOX invoke CreateDialogParam,hInstance, addr DlgboxName,hWnd,OFFSET DlgboxProc,NULL . . DlgboxProc proc hDlg:HWND,iMsg:DWORD,wParam:WPARAM, lParam:LPARAM . . .if iMsg==WM_COMMAND mov eax,wParam .if ax==IDOK . .elseif ax==CANCEL . .endif DlgboxProc endp hth vesa
Posted on 2001-02-28 06:45:00 by vesa