Just asking if anyone has tried. I tried porting Iczelion's tutorial #2(message box), but no luck. I am still a beginner at this. I know all db directives have to be turned into C++ variable types. I managed to firgure out most of the includes(windowsx.h,winuser.h). But I keep getting an error like "cant find external @win16main" or similar. Just wondering if anyone has tried it and made it work. I like the VC6 debugger so.... I can put int 3 into my code and use it as a just in time debugger, but I dont think I can get source in the dissasembly window. Probably better off just using MASM, but gotta try? no? Oops, first time poster. I wanted this post to go to the General forum, but I think it went to MASM instead, sorry. This message was edited by asm_happy, on 2/28/2001 6:08:35 PM
Posted on 2001-02-28 18:04:00 by asm_happy
Do you mean use the VC++ 6 IDE with the masm assembler? If so, i would love to know how.
Posted on 2001-03-01 01:04:00 by HeroInc
Using the VC6 ide with masm is no big deal. Make a folder called "asm files", and make a proper build rule for that folder. Presto. You wont have syntax highlighting or intellisense or any of the other nice features though.
Posted on 2001-03-01 03:24:00 by f0dder
You put 'limited' syntax hilighting in, by adding the assembler keywords into the usertype.dat file, then switching asm to c/c++ file type (you can change the registry to do it for you). Then all keywords strings and things come out fine :-) I also use the linker,debugger and resource editor, which all integrates nicely :-) So until an assembler IDE comes close to the VC IDE I'm sticking with it. umbongo
Posted on 2001-03-01 04:45:00 by umbongo
Thanks, I'll see if I can figure this one out. Im not sure what f0dder means by a proper build rule. In my test I was using inline assembly, mean I was actually using the the C++ compiler. Are you saying I can make a build rule to use MASM instead? I may have VC6 but I find asm more understandable than C++.