i'm a graphic designer by profession and i have just recently got interested in having my eyeballs roll in opposite directions by pumping win32 asm code into my head. i also have some experience (even earned some $$) with vc++ (mfc) so only in learning asm did i realize that 'real' programming was this fun (or painful). what i'm interested in now is coming with cool-looking 'skeletons', ala sonique and window mplayer7, only faster. i'm bored with the usual look of the windows ui (click-next-finish w/ mfc) and i want to make some nicer looking ones. i'm a total newbie (6 weeks old), so all help will be highly appreciated.
Posted on 2001-03-13 09:36:00 by pixelwise
I hate to break this to you, but you have to know how to crawl before you can walk. ASM *might* seem easier then C++ (it sure does to me), but you still have the hill to climb learning the windows API. Without a deep understanding of this API (or at least a flavor of what it does so you can do short searches) you'll get nowhere. I strongly suggest you read as many of Iczelion's tutorials as you can stand. He's an excellent teacher in the groundwork. Once you have THAT down, try coding something simple as your first project (mine was a kitchen timer). After that seems like a trivial exarcize, when youe head is full of "this is how I'd do..." thoughts, THEN think about coding the coolest something player or whatever.
Posted on 2001-03-13 11:54:00 by Ernie
thanks for the advice, ernie. i do have all of iczelion's tutorials and your kitchen timer source code. of course i can make my own copy of that prog, but to really understand what's going on is the most painful part. may i know how long it took for you guys to be where you are now? hope i can be good at this before i'm 50.
Posted on 2001-03-20 05:53:00 by pixelwise