How would you translate this into MASM syntax?
I am stumped on this one

want to handle the WM_GETMINMAXINFO message and the C prototype is this:

WM_GETMINMAXINFO
lpmmi = (LPMINMAXINFO) lParam; // address of structure

i want to handle this is my WndProc in ASM ie.

LOCAL info:MINMAXINFO

.if eax==WM_GETMINMAXINFO
mov info, addr lParam
mov info.member, 20 ;something like this
.endif

I know this doesn't work. Wrong types.

How do you cast lParam to MINMAXINFO and then use it. I am a C programmer , so the ASM is slipping my mind on this one and all I see is the C/C++ way of doing it.

any help appreciated
Posted on 2002-01-02 20:04:03 by Rockinronstar
Hi Rockinronstar

When WM_GETMINMAXINFO is sendt to your window, lParam contains a pointer to a MINMAXINFO structure. To change some values in the structure do this:

mov edx,lParam
mov (MINMAXINFO ptr ).ptMaxSize.x,400
mov (MINMAXINFO ptr ).ptMaxSize.y,300

KetilO
Posted on 2002-01-03 03:04:46 by KetilO
thanx.

mov (MINMAXINFO ptr ).ptMaxSize.y,300

this looks to me like a C style cast?? Didn't know stuff like this was possible in ASM

is this part of the high level aspects of MASM?

wondering if this translates into more ASM internally.

oh ya, thanx - saved me a headache or 7...

also, since you are the RAD guy, do you know how to intercept specific messages fropm controls.

ie, lets say I have a statusbar on the bottom of my window.
I know it sends a WM_NOTIFY to its parent, but how can you check for specific messages from the control itself. For example intercepting a WM_LMOUSEBUTTONDOWN from it?

And wondering whether the concept of subclassing controls and adding new events/functionality is possible with ASM? And overriding events within the control.