Hey everyone.
I am currently working on a project to make a web browser just a simple one that has an address bar, and a window for the page to come up and maybe an about and file and exit but i am also a newbie :). So i kinda need some help. I am sort of grasping the idea of making windows but not quite almost there though. I am just thinking of making a template for it which brings me to my next point as of now i am using masm32. So i need help for that specific tool not tasm or nams or any others. I need to know how to make the window where the web page will display and how to make the address bar fully functional ( I already know about button, radio box , etc classes already made). I would greatly appreciate any help.
Posted on 2002-01-02 21:00:32 by resistance_is_futile
Have you looked at iczellions tutorials. these will show you how to create your window. For an address bar try a basic edit control, create this using CreateWindowEx I would do this in the WM_CREATE of your main window.
Posted on 2002-01-02 21:09:21 by Quantum
I have already looked at his tutorial on creating windows and have read it 2 times going on 3 as of now. But what about positioning the bar. How would i position it in the window? And i also need to place a area to view the web page. How would i do that?
Posted on 2002-01-02 21:16:08 by resistance_is_futile
hello r_i_f,
What you're trying to do (a web browser in asm) has already been started by Xtreme. I hate to break this out to you (that is, if you're not aware yet), that doing a web browser doesn't just involve the API common controls but a basic knowledge of COM/ActiveX as well. I gather you're not up to developing your own browser control :grin:. What's usually done in applications such as EditPlus and CodeCharge is embed the Internet Explorer Web Browser control. You can also use the Open source Mozilla as an ActiveX control.