Hey guys, I'm in the process of writing some guides on how to Convert C to Assembly. Really, I don't know what to call it. It's a very in-depth description of all the C keywords and functions, expressions and C++ objects and how it would be achieved in assembly. Two purposes are served here. 1) It will help you write assembly code akin to how it's done in C/C++. 2) it will help you integrate your asm better into C/C++ source. I'm only getting started. I have part I up for review. My version is much more complete than what is online. I presume this will take the better part of the next 2-6 weeks to complete the first 2 parts of the series. I have lots of reverse engineering to complete. However, you may get a sneak peak at http://visualassembler.freeservers.com/Research.html Comments are welcome, as are technical suggestions and corrections. I'm not looking for optimizations at this point, however, it doesn't hurt to suggest as it'll likely be strongly considered. _Shawn Udpate: Made active link This message was edited by _Shawn, on 3/30/2001 12:49:24 AM
Posted on 2001-03-29 21:25:00 by _Shawn
I was thinking of suggesting something like this. I no c/c++ expert or newbie for that matter. But then I thought someone would say, "Why dont you just look at the dissassembly". Compilers dont write it like us humans. I look forward to your guides. ps where can I see this first one you are talking about??
Posted on 2001-03-29 23:28:00 by asm_happy
asm_happy, This is part I of III. This is the first one. Like I said, it's a work in progress. It's not complete, that one you saw is about 8% complete. I just started it yesterday. Here's the breakdown I'm planning:

Part I:

C Keywords
  C Functions
  C Expressions

Part II:

C++ Objects/Classes
  Inheritance
  Virtual Functions
  Poly Morphism

Mixing C/C++/ASM Code Object Files
  Mixed Programming

Part III: (Subject to whether I can learn or not -- help anyone?)

C Numeric Datatypes
  Signed/Unsigned Integer Math