someone asked me if i'm doing COM today. I said "no", and that I even don't know what that exactly is, and what I need it for. perhaps one of you can explain it to me?!
Posted on 2001-05-04 10:39:00 by [SaFc0n]
Howdy Safcon! I'm not the indicated person to tell you what COM is..but you can check that at Ernie's site : http://here.is/cominasm Enjoy! Latigo
Posted on 2001-05-04 10:53:00 by latigo
all im gunna say is its kinda like lego :D
Posted on 2001-05-04 11:11:00 by Jester
Well i will give it a stab, (im no pro tho), Com's as i now understand them are intefaces to Hidden code, kinda like black-boxes. COM == Component Object Model A COM is a window object that is totaly self sustaining, they have their own unique identifier, and all instances of it is maintained by this one object. The most basic COM has only 3 'behavioural' interfaces (AddRef, Release, and QueryInterface), theses are the basis of all COM's. Every other COM used, (DirectX for example) is inherited from this basic interface, such that every unique com will have at least a standardized interface for its most basic functions (mentioned above). The interface is a virtual funtion pointer table (Sounds crazy but not hard to wrap your mind around). Every separate instance of a COM created returns a pointer to another unique Interface table for the Functions it suports. This is why Ernie has gone to great lengths to devise a working standard of placing function PROTOTYPES into a stucture. This way fuction pointers can be inplemented (Same function name, different address of the function) and used for Different instances of the same COM object. The rest is left up to the COM itself, so i pretty well ignore the ongoings and trust the documentation that Micro$oft gives. Much like any other API i use.. Ernie, how did I do? :P NaN
Posted on 2001-05-04 16:03:00 by NaN