Does any one know where I can get clear info on how to make MACRO's in masm? I've never done it before. Maybe a how-to or syntax guide or something.
Posted on 2002-01-07 11:28:04 by rdaneel
A good start would be to read Chapter 9 (Google for MASM+Macro).
Posted on 2002-01-07 11:30:43 by bitRAKE
Are you talking about chapter 9 of AOA? I see macros section in Chapter 8 of AOA32.
Posted on 2002-01-07 11:36:59 by rdaneel
Hello !

http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/Page_TechDocs/MASMDoc/

It seems to be a division of AoA's website.

You will find all the needed information there...

Regards
Posted on 2002-01-07 11:43:29 by JCP
Readiosys,

Thats an excellent link! I have them in PDF's but its too annoying to use as is (contents in 1 pdf, index in another, chapters unmarked in file name). Thanx!

rdaneel,

Definitely give this a read thu, some basic examples, but its better if you have an idea in mind, and then see what MASM can do to help you. Feel free to ask more q's because some MACRO's are hard to understand their proper uses (build in ones anyways).

Best of luck.
:alright:
NaN
Posted on 2002-01-07 13:19:20 by NaN
I'm trying to understand MACROs better so I can decipher what is going on in the Bizarre Creations OpenGL includes. For instance:

gl_movf MACRO dest,numb
mov dest,12345678h
ORG $-4
real4 numb
ENDM

I'll read some and then ask more questions when I inevitebly get stuck. Thanks NaN.
Posted on 2002-01-07 14:30:07 by rdaneel
rdaneel, those macros will work most of the time, but you will get some errors that are almost impossible to debug. Using ORG $-4 within a macro to back over instructions that have been assembled is a bad thing in MASM. ORG is meant to be used with an immediate address to set the execution point in memory. $-4 means the current address minus four. This is a nice hack, but MASM isn't designed to do this and I have had serveral problems using such macros. This is just a friendly warning. :)
Posted on 2002-01-07 15:39:59 by bitRAKE