Kinda a big subject.....

I have been coding for almot 10 years now and believe it or not, never figured out how to write a Dll properly. I used MFC to create MFC Dll's but thats cheating, haha

Anyone have any insight on how to create a good/proper Dll using Masm? Also, the differences between writing a static Dll and a Dynamic Loading Dll? I know they are different and why their different , just don't know if you code them different internally.

One subject also that I have always been interested in is making an application with the ability to use Plug_ins. Have no idea how to do this one. I assume using Dynamic Loading Dll's but that the limit of my expertise, lol

If anyone knows of any resources that show this and/or code samples of these things that would be awesome

thanx
Posted on 2002-01-08 18:43:04 by Rockinronstar
Rockinronstar,

The difference between "statically loaded" and "dynamically loaded" DLLs is in how you call them. If they are set in the build as most languages do, the compiler does the work, if you want to build a plugin interface, you would normally use LoadLibrary, GetProcAddress, FreeLibrary on the same DLL.

Basically all you need is some method of setting the path and filename of the DLL into your application and just pass this to LoadLibrary, get the proc address and directly call the function in the DLL.

Regards,

hutch@movsd.com
Posted on 2002-01-08 19:07:10 by hutch--
for plug-ins, do you create a Function in the Dll that "has to be there". And your App calls this. And if it finds it then its a valid plugin and then this function gives the App what it needs to know about the Dll?

Also, I guess you would need to implement an "API" in your application that the Dll can use to manipulate the program?

Wondering what and how much work is involved in making an application "plug-in supportable"

thanx
Posted on 2002-01-08 20:22:07 by Rockinronstar