Hi I hope somebody could help me. I'm new in theme assembler. I have some questions to the experts (i.e., everyone except myself :) ) : 1) Is it possible to change an .exe program into an .asm program? With which program? 2) If yes, can I edit (and change) the .asm file? With which editor? 3) If that is possible, how can I change the new .asm file in a .exe file? Thanks in advance. Lautaro
Posted on 2001-06-29 11:46:00 by Lautaro
The tool you are looking for is called a disassembler. It will carve up an exe file into its mnemonics, and depending on its quality, comment the code with "guesses" as to what various things refer to. One of the best disassemblers is IDA PRO which can be bought from: http://www.datarescue.com/ The use for such tools is rather dubious (or at least requests for info on such tools is), as they can be used for cracking. It also tends to be the case that those who need them for legitimate purposes know where to buy them, and how to use them. If I am wrong about your reason for wanting it I apologise. But the web does tend to harbour rather a large number of crackers. It is also the case that this board is against such illegal activities. Mirno
Posted on 2001-06-29 12:10:00 by Mirno
Hi Lautaro! This is not the best subject to mess with if you are a beginner however here is my answer: If i were you i'd try the IDA disassembler approach. IDA promises to get .asm out of a .exe. Actually it does. The problem is that you'll need a lot of hand-hacking to re-assemble that .asm and chances are that it'll be a difficult task. To re-assemble the .asm file created by IDA you'll need TASM i think. IDA can be found in www.datarescue.com (or your local warez dealer) and TASM can be found in the web. Well, good luck :) Bye! Latigo
Posted on 2001-06-29 12:25:00 by latigo