Hi, All!

I'm new to asm, so please bear with me on this.

I was wondering how I would go about determining the number of arguments passed via INVOKE, if the proc I'm calling were to support a variable number of arguments that are terminated with a zero?

In looking at the Invoke macro, I figure that I can either divide %$args by four, or I can introduce a new macro var and increment it by one everytime %$args is incremented by four.

Then, just before call _proc, I push the value in the new var onto the stack.  This should end up after the terminating zero mentioned above, correct?

What I'm trying to accomplish is being able to use the proc like so (not real code):

invoke myproc,1,2,3,4,5

and have myproc call an external function, in a loop

proc myproc
argcnt argd

loop1:
  invoke extfunc,argv(something)
  cmp <register>,argcnt
  je somewhere
  dec argcnt ; **probably need to use a register
  jmp loop1
endproc

I know this is ugly and incorrect code, but I'm thinking this through before starting the actual code.  ;)

Thanks in advance for your replies!

AIR.
Posted on 2007-08-29 14:13:16 by Airr
Ah, I should have read the nasm manual.  It appears that %0 is what I was looking for... :oops:

AIR.
Posted on 2007-08-29 15:38:34 by Airr

Ah, I should have read the nasm manual.  It appears that %0 is what I was looking for... :oops:

AIR.

Yep. Keep that manual handy, as just when you think of a complex way to do things in NASM... a simpler one usually exists and just requires "discovery" ;)
Posted on 2007-08-29 19:51:02 by SpooK
I don't think the %0 macro directive is going to help you much here. It's for obtaining the number of parameters passed to a macro, in this case your problem is finding out how many arguments you have on the stack. Probably the easiest way to achieve this for you would be to do your procedure similar to what you are already doing but making a few minor changes.

invoke myproc,7,10,21,13,42,73,85,88
invoke myproc,9,94,16,44,55,12,52,62,30,78