Hi.

The BIOS is obviously compiled into machine code and AWARE of the components on the motherboard. However, how does the Kernel and Operating System applications become aware of the components on the motherboard? I mean, with you compile you application, what in the assembly is reserved to discover this components?

I'm about to dive into customizing & building Linux for a Nano-ITX board. As an experienced programmer, I should know this but my compiler experience if very limited. I've designed hardware, dealt with some legacy assembly languages, and programmed in many high-level languages.

However, it has ALWAYS confused me about the difference between the assembly recognized but CPU and what gets generated with a program is compiled for Windows.

Can someone explain this to me?

Thanks,
Leon
Posted on 2007-09-07 02:06:13 by spencer_leon
BIOS does very specific things like chipset programming and CPU microcode updates.

The OS kernel will probe the system for available devices, through BIOS and drivers; PCI probing is a lot easier than looking for old ISA devices, because of the vendor/device IDs of PCI.

Your own applications obviously won't have any "awareness" of devices except for what the OS exposes through it's APIs.

What gets programmed when an application is compiled for windows? The answer is: "what you put in the program" :)
Posted on 2007-09-07 07:24:44 by f0dder
:shock: So is a motherboard designed to the BIOS or the other way around? I would like to provide my own BIOS for a Mini-ITX board but I've been advised the boards are design around a particular BIOS manufacturer. So how do I know programmatically, i.e. via assembly/machine code, how to talk to devices on the board if I want to write my own BIOS?

Is this even possible? How are LinuxBIOS and OpenBIOS doing it?
Posted on 2007-11-06 16:51:29 by spencer_leon