should be something minor im overlooking. im searching a string for a single character occurance then will popup a messagebox with the character.
Posted on 2002-01-10 11:51:09 by smurf
Heya smurf,

invoke lstrlen, addr String ;get length of string
mov ecx,eax ;move length into our counter
lea esi,String ;move contents of String into esi.
Back:
lodsb ;copy one byte from esi,eax
cmp al,"?" ;check al for the ?
loopne Back
mov byte ptr ,al
mov byte ptr ,0
invoke MessageBox,NULL,addr Result,0,0

I think the std is useless.. well, I never use it and it always works... Then I've never used MemCopy before.. So I dropped that one too and copied the al into manually.. There I saw that the final 0 was missing... Now it works... Hope this helps you a bit.
Edit: And I made your Result a DWORD too.
Posted on 2002-01-10 12:10:07 by JimmyClif
You can only use MemCopy to copy from one ADDRESS to another ADDRESS. If you just want to copy a value from a register to a mem location use a mov instead. You also have to NULL terminate any strings in Message boxes. Remember that if you ever fool with the direction flag, you have to restore the previous state of the direction flag when your finished. Corrected code is attached.

Smurf, I tried to respond to your PM to me but it said your inbox was full.
Posted on 2002-01-10 12:13:52 by rdaneel
Couple of things...
1) Need more space for your result, 1 char for the char in question, one for the null terminator!

2) Why use strlen?

lea edx, MyString
xor eax, eax

@@:
mov ah, BYTE PTR [edx]
inc edx
cmp ah, '?'
je @F

or ah, ah
jnz @B

@@:
; ah = '?' or 0, al = 0, and byte swapping makes it the right
; way around (thats why I chose ah not al)!
mov result, ax

; invoke MessageBox...

Mirno
Posted on 2002-01-10 12:24:26 by Mirno