Hello,
I'm really new with ASM but i'm wondering if you could point me to an
implementation of a binary tree(or a linked list) in asm, it will be very useful to
study the code to clear my mind.
I know to implement this in C and Java but i'm having trouble with
assembly.

Thank you.

PS: I've seen some older posts but didn't find any implementation that i can study... so please help.
Posted on 2007-12-28 02:57:44 by miro
If you know how to do it in C, you should know how to do it in Assembly as well (if you have a little assembly experience), as there's really only very basic instructions available. If you aren't familiar with Assembly yet, you should probably take a look at MadWizard's crash course.

Also, if you have a working C solution, most compilers have a switch for outputting a .asm file listing of the generated code. If using this, be sure to either disable optimizations, or to optimize for size. Speed-optimized compiler output isn't the easiest to decipher :)
Posted on 2007-12-28 06:10:18 by f0dder
The idea is simple enough - the 'nodes' of the Tree are structs.
Each struct contains at least one pointer to another node, and this pointer will typically be set to ZERO if a given node has no 'child'.
In order to attach new nodes to existing ones, you need to manipulate those pointers.
Pretty much all Tree structures work this way, the only differences are usually in regards to how the node structs were allocated (one at a time, or in 'pages'), whether there are pointers from the child to the parent (so we can walk 'up' as well as 'down' the tree) and in the case of n-ary trees (eg quad or oct trees), how many childs can be attached to any parent node.

Each variation on this theme is more suitable to a particular application, so you really need to stop and think about what you need - for example, will the nodes need to be sorted at a later stage? Will there be huge numbers of nodes? Stuff like that.

MyNode struct
  blah1 dword ?
  blah2 dword ?